Careers › Business & finance

How to become a Public Administrator

Manages government departments, municipalities and public-sector organisations.

What does a Public Administrator actually do?

More about this career

Runs the administrative side of national, provincial and local government – budgets, policy, service delivery and staff – as well as parts of the NGO and parastatal sector. Public management qualifications are available as diplomas and degrees.

Where this degree can take you

  • Municipal Manager
  • Policy Analyst
  • Government Programme Manager
  • Public Sector Planner

This is our general description of the role and related jobs, not from an official source – it’s here to give you a fuller picture, not as a careers-counselling guarantee.

Not from an official source

Subjects that usually help

  • Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy
  • History or Business Studies (helpful)

This is our general guidance about which school subjects suit this career. It is not an admission requirement and not from an official source – the real requirements are on the degrees below.

Not from an official source

Where to check this yourself

What the programmes we’ve captured actually ask for

  • Mathematics – asked for by 8 of 17 programmes
  • Mathematical Literacy – asked for by 4 of 17 programmes
  • Technical Mathematics – asked for by 1 of 17 programmes

Counted from the requirements below (an “or” alternative counts for each subject named). Each programme links to the page it came from.

Programmes that lead here

17 programmes at 10 universities. More are added as we verify them.

Central University of Technology

Partly verifiedNot fully verified

Diploma in Public Management

Management Sciences · 3 years

CUT APS 27 points out of 49

  • General admission – A Senior Certificate or equivalent; a CUT score below 27 may trigger an additional selection process.

cut.ac.za was directly reachable this pass (unlike earlier passes), but this figure came from a web search summary of the page rather than a full raw read - re-check before relying on it. This programme’s figures came through an AI-summarized fetch of the official CUT page rather than a raw read of the page itself - re-verify against cut.ac.za before fully relying on it. No 2027 closing date is stated on CUT’s own pages.

Source: View the official page (cut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

No cut-off published

Advanced Diploma in Public Management

Management Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – A diploma in Public Management (or an equivalent) with at least 55% in all third-year major subjects.

Raw-confirmed 2026-10-04 against CUT’s own programme page (it carries no intake year; applications for 2027 closed 30 September 2026). Advanced Diploma (NQF level 7), entered with a completed diploma rather than directly from school.

Source: View the official page (cut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Mangosuthu University of Technology

Diploma in Public Management

Management Sciences · 3 years

MUT APS 25

  • English: level 3 if it is your Home Language, level 4 if it is your First Additional Language

RAW-CONFIRMED by a second MUT document (the user-supplied First-Year Prospectus 2026: "Total minimum points: 25, excl. Life Orientation") - the full subject breakdown beyond English and the 25-point total is still not stated in either document. All admissions go through a selection process beyond just meeting the minimum; students who averaged 60%+ at N6 level (Public Admin/Public Management) are also considered.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Selection programme

Advanced Diploma in Public Management

Management Sciences · 1 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • Prior qualification – A National Diploma or Diploma in Public Management (or equivalent) with an average of 60%; less than 60% may be considered with three years’ public-sector experience.

Read 2026-10-04 from MUT’s own 2026 Management Sciences Prospectus.

Source: View the official page (mut.ac.za) (opens the official page)

Stellenbosch University

Selection programme

BCom (Management Sciences) with focal area Public and Development Management

Economic and Management Sciences · 3 years

Stellenbosch aggregate 65 %

  • Language – English Home Language 50% OR Afrikaans Home Language 50% OR Afrikaans First Additional Language 70% OR English First Additional Language 70%.
  • Mathematics: 60%

Read 2026-10-04 from the Stellenbosch 2027 Undergraduate Prospectus (page images). The number shown is the NSC aggregate (excluding Life Orientation). Page 7. Every Stellenbosch programme is a selection programme. The figures shown are the published minimum requirements - the actual selection threshold is usually higher.

Source: View the official page (files.su.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

University of Fort Hare

Bachelor of Administration in Public Administration

Management and Commerce · 3 years

UFH APS 26

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 2 (30% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Four more subjects – Four further subjects at level 4 or better.
  • Life Orientation: level 4 (50% or more)

Governance and public-sector management - filed under the closest existing career category. APS 26 (Mathematics route) derived 2026-10-03 by applying UFH's own confirmed APS formula to this programme's own published subject minimums - independently matches a navyblue.co.za listing exactly. UFH does not state a numeric APS minimum on this programme’s own page, only subject-level requirements. 2027 undergraduate applications: opened 1 May 2026, close 31 October 2026 (from ufh.ac.za/admission).

Source: View the official page (ufh.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

University of Johannesburg

BA in Public Management and Governance

Economic & Financial Sciences · 3 years

UJ APS 26 points

  • English: level 5 if it is your Home Language, level 5 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Technical Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 5 (60% or more)

Read from the 2027 UJ Undergraduate Prospectus, page 41, programme code B34PKQ / B34PSQ. APS 26 with Mathematics or Technical Mathematics, 28 with Mathematical Literacy. Offered on the Kingsway and Soweto campuses.

Source: View the official page (uj.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

University of KwaZulu-Natal

From an older document

Bachelor of Administration

Law & Management Studies · 3 years

UKZN APS 28 points out of 48

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Orientation: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more)

Read 2026-10-04 from the table in the Study@UKZN 2026 brochure (CAO code KN-W-BAD); published APS range 48-28. This comes from the Study@UKZN 2026 brochure, the most recent official source we could find. UKZN had not published a 2027 table when we checked, so treat these as 2026 figures pending a 2027 update. Applications go through the CAO.

Source: View the official page (studyatukzn.ukzn.ac.za) (opens the official page)

From an older document

BSocSc Government, Business and Ethics

Humanities · 3 years

UKZN APS 28 points out of 48

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Orientation: level 4 (50% or more)
  • One listed subject – One subject from UKZN’s designated list at level 5 (Business Studies, Consumer Studies, Dramatic Arts, Economics, Geography, History, Information Technology, Life Sciences, Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy at level 2, Music, Religion Studies, Visual Arts, or a language at Home or First Additional level 5).

Read 2026-10-04 from the table in the Study@UKZN 2026 brochure (CAO code KN-P-SOG); published APS range 48-28. This comes from the Study@UKZN 2026 brochure, the most recent official source we could find. UKZN had not published a 2027 table when we checked, so treat these as 2026 figures pending a 2027 update. Applications go through the CAO.

Source: View the official page (studyatukzn.ukzn.ac.za) (opens the official page)

University of South Africa

No cut-off published

Bachelor of Arts in Government, Administration and Development

Human Sciences

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: 50%

Read 2026-10-04 from Unisa’s own qualification page (code 99301). NSC with Bachelor’s Degree endorsement (or equivalent). Unisa states percentages, not an APS, on this page. Confirmed current for the 2027 intake: Unisa’s own pages state its 2027 application window as 17 August - 9 October 2026.

Source: View the official page (unisa.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

No cut-off published

Bachelor of Arts in Policy Studies

Human Sciences

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: 50%

Read 2026-10-04 from Unisa’s own qualification page (code 99303). NSC with Bachelor’s Degree endorsement (or equivalent). Unisa states percentages, not an APS, on this page. Confirmed current for the 2027 intake: Unisa’s own pages state its 2027 application window as 17 August - 9 October 2026.

Source: View the official page (unisa.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

No cut-off published

Bachelor of Commerce in Public Procurement Management

Economic & Management Sciences

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: 50%
  • Mathematics: 50%

Read 2026-10-04 from Unisa’s own qualification page (code 98767 – PPM). NSC with Bachelor’s Degree endorsement (or equivalent). Unisa states percentages, not an APS, on this page. Confirmed current for the 2027 intake: Unisa’s own pages state its 2027 application window as 17 August - 9 October 2026.

Source: View the official page (unisa.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

No cut-off published

Diploma in Local Government Finance

Economic & Management Sciences

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: 50%
  • Mathematics: 40% OR Mathematical Literacy: 70%

Read 2026-10-04 from Unisa’s own qualification page (code 90083). NSC with Diploma endorsement (or equivalent). Unisa states percentages, not an APS, on this page. Confirmed current for the 2027 intake: Unisa’s own pages state its 2027 application window as 17 August - 9 October 2026.

Source: View the official page (unisa.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

No cut-off published

Diploma in Public Administration and Management

Economic & Management Sciences

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: 50%
  • Mathematics: 40% OR Mathematical Literacy: 70%

Read 2026-10-04 from Unisa’s own qualification page (code 98203). NSC with Diploma endorsement (or equivalent). Unisa states percentages, not an APS, on this page. Confirmed current for the 2027 intake: Unisa’s own pages state its 2027 application window as 17 August - 9 October 2026.

Source: View the official page (unisa.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

University of the Free State

Bachelor of Administration (BAdmin)

Economic & Management Sciences

UFS AP score 28 points out of 49

  • English: level 4 if it is your Home Language, level 4 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Mathematics: 30%

Read 2026-10-04 from the table on the faculty’s page in the UFS 2027 Undergraduate Prospectus (page images). Plan code BC634040 (Bloemfontein) and QC634040 (Qwaqwa). Mathematics at level 2 (30%).

Source: View the official page (ufs.ac.za) (opens the official page)

University of Venda

Bachelor of Administration in Public Administration

Management, Commerce and Law · 3 years

Univen APS 32

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Three more subjects – Level 3 (40-49%) in any three subjects.

Raw-read 2026-10-04 from Univen’s 2027 Undergraduate Prospectus (April 2026), faculty programme tables. Extended degree route (4 years) is available at APS 28-31. Online applications are free and run 1 May - 30 September 2026.

Source: View the official page (univen.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Walter Sisulu University

Diploma in Public Management

Management & Public Administration Sciences · 3 years

WSU APS 21 points out of 48 (56 for Education programmes)

  • English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Four more subjects – Any other four subjects at level 3.

Raw-read 2026-10-04 from WSU’s own 2027 Undergraduate Information Brochure & Admission Requirements (main-stream figures; Extended Curriculum Programmes accept a lower APS, noted where the brochure gives one). Applications: the brochure lists no closing date - check wsu.ac.za.

Source: View the official page (wsu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Are your marks enough?

Put your subjects in once and we’ll check them against every programme above – scored each university’s own way.

What do I qualify for?