Universities

University of the Free State

1 degree captured from UFS’s own official sources, across 1 faculty.

Traditional ufs.ac.za (opens the official page)

How UFS scores you

Every university does this differently.

Partly checked

UFS AP score

UFS scores six academic subjects from 8 (90-100%) down to 2 (30-39%), and nothing below 30%. Life Orientation adds one point at 60% or more. For Medicine it is the four compulsory subjects plus your best two.

This score means nothing at another university – it can’t be compared with any other university’s.

What we couldn’t confirm
  • The 2027 document points to the AP scale "in the official UFS Prospectus". The only scale we could read is from the 2024 prospectus, so we assume it is unchanged. Other UFS faculties may count subjects differently.

Checked against: UFS MBChB selection rules 2027 (opens the official page) · UFS Undergraduate Programmes 2024 (AP scale) (opens the official page)

Dates

For the 2027 intake. 2028 dates aren’t published yet.

Application fee: Free Checked on an official page apply.ufs.ac.za (opens the official page)

All UFS dates → · Do I need the NBT? →

Who to contact at UFS

Undergraduate applications

Checked on an official page

Applying to UFS is free.

Source: apply.ufs.ac.za (opens the official page) · checked 1 October 2026

KovsieChat (WhatsApp)

Checked on an official page

Source: apply.ufs.ac.za (opens the official page) · checked 1 October 2026

Faculty of Health Sciences applications

Checked on an official page

Source: ufs.ac.za (opens the official page) · checked 1 October 2026

Get help writing your question →

Degrees

Health Sciences

Selection programmePartly verified

MBChB (Medicine)

Health Sciences

UFS AP score 36 points out of 49

  • English: level 5 if it is your Home Language, level 5 if it is your First Additional Language
  • Mathematics: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Life Sciences: level 5 (60% or more)

UFS requires an AP score of at least 36 to qualify for selection, plus level 5 (60%) in each of English, Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences - both from the 2027 MBChB selection rules. Selection then goes well beyond marks (the document also awards points for other things). The AP scale is worked from the four compulsory subjects plus your best two, plus 1 point for Life Orientation at 60%+; the scale itself comes from UFS’s 2024 prospectus because the 2027 document refers to the prospectus for it. The duration is not stated in the 2027 document.

Source: View the official page (ufs.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

What we couldn’t verify at UFS

We publish our gaps instead of hiding them.

could not verify

Everything except MBChB

Not researched - only MBChB is captured. For MBChB the 2027 rules now give the per-subject minimums (level 5 / 60% in English, Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences) and the AP of at least 36; the duration is still not stated. UFS also publishes programme closing dates on its application page (31 May for Medicine and several health programmes, 31 July for Nursing, Social Work and Architecture, 30 September for the rest).

partially verified

AP score formula

PARTLY RESOLVED. The 2027 MBChB selection rules confirm the structure (four compulsory subjects plus best two, 1 point for Life Orientation at level 5+) but defer to the prospectus for the point scale. The only scale we could read is in UFS’s 2024 prospectus (90-100% = 8, 80-89% = 7 ... 30-39% = 2, below 30% none), so we use it and flag it as coming from an older document. Confirm against the current UFS prospectus.

Do your marks get you in here?

Enter your subjects once and we’ll check them against every UFS degree above.

What do I qualify for?