Universities

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University

9 degrees captured from SMU’s own official sources, across 4 faculties.

Traditional (health) smu.ac.za (opens the official page)

How SMU scores you

Every university does this differently.

Partly checkedWe do not calculate this

SMU APS

SMU converts marks to points on its own scale (A = 12 points down to F = 3 points) via a published conversion table, which is different from the standard 1-7 NSC achievement level scale used elsewhere on this site. We have the resulting APS minimums per programme but not the full conversion table itself, so each programme shows its published minimum APS as reference only, and subject minimums are described in SMU’s own points rather than converted to our usual level/percentage fields.

SMU uses its own points scale, which we have not fully confirmed from an official source yet - see the published minimum on each programme instead.

This score means nothing at another university – it can’t be compared with any other university’s.

What we couldn’t confirm
  • We could not obtain Table 2 itself (only an AI-summarized description, not the raw table), so Medicine/Dentistry subject minimums are described in SMU’s own words rather than converted to our usual level/percentage fields, and no score is computed for any SMU programme. Whether MBChB/BDS/Pharmacy require the NBT is unconfirmed and not stated.

Checked against: SMU Medicine undergraduate admission requirements (opens the official page) · SMU Health Care Sciences undergraduate admission requirements (opens the official page)

Dates

For the 2027 intake. 2028 dates aren’t published yet.

Application fee: R300 From our research - not re-checked yet smu.ac.za (opens the official page)

All SMU dates → · Do I need the NBT? →

Who to contact at SMU

Applications

From our research - not re-checked yet

General enquiries: enquiries@smu.ac.za.

Source: smu.ac.za (opens the official page) · checked 1 October 2026

Get help writing your question →

Degrees

School of Health Care Sciences

Partly verified

BSc Dietetics

School of Health Care Sciences

SMU APS 25

  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Orientation: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Two more subjects – Two further subjects at level 3 or better.

Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verified

Bachelor of Nursing and Midwifery

School of Health Care Sciences

SMU APS 25

  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Orientation: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Two more subjects – Two further subjects at level 3 or better.
  • SANC registration – Registration with the SA Nursing Council is compulsory within the first 30 days of admission.

SMU also lists an older "Bachelor Nursing Sciences and Arts" qualification explicitly marked as being phased out - not included here. Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verified

Bachelor of Occupational Therapy

School of Health Care Sciences

SMU APS 25

  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Orientation: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Two more subjects – Two further subjects at level 3 or better.

Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verified

BSc Physiotherapy

School of Health Care Sciences

SMU APS 28

  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Orientation: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Two more subjects – Two further subjects at level 4 or better.

Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verified

Bachelor of Speech-Language Pathology

School of Health Care Sciences

SMU APS 25

  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Another language – Another language (Home or First Additional) at level 4.
  • Life Orientation: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Two more subjects – Two further subjects at level 3 or better.

Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verified

Bachelor of Audiology

School of Health Care Sciences

SMU APS 25

  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Another language – Another language (Home or First Additional) at level 4.
  • Life Orientation: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Two more subjects – Two further subjects at level 3 or better.

Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

School of Medicine

Selection programmePartly verified

MBChB (Medicine)

School of Medicine

SMU APS 38

  • Mathematics, Physical Science, Life Science, Life Orientation, English – Each needs a minimum of 6 points on SMU’s own APS conversion scale (A = 12 points down to F = 3 points - not the standard 1-7 NSC level scale).

38 is the Grade 11 provisional pre-selection threshold for about 250 places a year; final Grade 12 selection is competitive on actual percentage marks, and meeting the minimum does not guarantee a place. Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

School of Oral Health Sciences

Selection programmePartly verified

BDS (Dentistry / Oral Health Sciences)

School of Oral Health Sciences

SMU APS 37

  • English, Life Sciences, Physical Science, Mathematics – Each needs a minimum of 6 points on SMU’s own APS conversion scale (A = 12 points down to F = 3 points).

About 42 places a year, selected by merit order on actual percentage marks. Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

School of Pharmacy

Partly verified

Bachelor of Pharmacy

School of Pharmacy

SMU APS 32

  • Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physical Sciences, English – Each at level 5; Life Orientation at level 4; two further subjects (preferably Accounting and Economics) at level 4 each - these ARE on the standard 1-7 NSC scale, unlike SMU’s Medicine and Dentistry pages above.
  • Interview – Applicants who meet the academic minimums are invited to an interview.

Closes 31 July 2026 for undergraduate programmes (applications open 1 April 2026) - notably earlier than most universities in this batch.

Source: View the official page (smu.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

What we couldn’t verify at SMU

We publish our gaps instead of hiding them.

partially verified

9 programmes across Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Health Care Sciences

SMU’s early undergraduate closing date (31 July 2026, about two months before most other universities in this batch) is confirmed directly on its own page - exactly the "apply early" pattern this site flags for health-sciences faculties elsewhere. All 9 programmes were confirmed by direct fetch of SMU’s own admission-requirement pages. SMU converts marks on its own points scale (A = 12 down to F = 3) for Medicine and Dentistry specifically, which is different from the standard 1-7 NSC level scale its Pharmacy and Health Care Sciences pages use - SMU_APS is non-computable and Medicine/Dentistry subject minimums are described in SMU’s own words rather than forced into our usual fields. Whether MBChB/BDS/Pharmacy require the NBT is unconfirmed (general site text suggests yes, but none of the specific admission-requirement pages we read mentioned it) and is deliberately not stated. No programme page stated a duration, so all 9 show duration as unknown rather than assumed. Radiography, Medical Sciences and Environmental Health programmes were not found/confirmed - may not exist at SMU, or sit elsewhere; a "Bachelor Nursing Sciences and Arts" qualification was found explicitly marked as phasing out and is not included.

Do your marks get you in here?

Enter your subjects once and we’ll check them against every SMU degree above.

What do I qualify for?