Universities

Durban University of Technology

8 degrees captured from DUT’s own official sources, across 4 faculties.

University of Technology Apply through the CAO dut.ac.za (opens the official page)

How DUT scores you

Every university does this differently.

Partly checked

DUT APS

DUT adds the NSC achievement levels (1 to 7) of your best six subjects, excluding Life Orientation. DUT applications go through the CAO, not DUT directly, and several programmes also apply their own additional selection rules on top (e.g. a combined Mathematics + Physical Science threshold) which we show in the programme’s own notes rather than compute.

This score means nothing at another university – it can’t be compared with any other university’s.

What we couldn’t confirm
  • DUT’s document did not spell out the exact points-per-percentage table; we assume the standard NSC 1-7 achievement-level scale, consistent with its published programme APS figures. Several programmes also apply additional selection rules (e.g. a combined Mathematics + Physical Science threshold) we show as a note rather than compute, and many DUT programmes publish no single APS cut-off at all.

Checked against: DUT Study Opportunities 2027 (opens the official page)

Dates

For the 2027 intake. 2028 dates aren’t published yet.

All DUT dates → · Do I need the NBT? →

Who to contact at DUT

General enquiries

From our research - not re-checked yet

DUT’s how-to-apply guide is a PDF; no HTML application page was found. First-time applicants apply through the CAO.

Source: dut.ac.za (opens the official page) · checked 1 October 2026

Get help writing your question →

Degrees

Accounting & Informatics

Partly verifiedNo cut-off published

Diploma in ICT: Applications Development

Accounting & Informatics · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 3 (40% or more) OR Mathematical Literacy: level 6 (70% or more)
  • Two more subjects – Two further 20-credit NSC subjects.

A 4-year Extended Curriculum Programme route is also available. DUT did not state a single APS number on this page. Closes 30 September 2026. From DUT’s 2027 Study Opportunities prospectus. Applications go through the CAO (cao.ac.za), not directly to DUT; general closing date 30 September 2026 (fee R250 SA / R300 international).

Source: View the official page (dut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verifiedNo cut-off published

Diploma in Accounting

Accounting & Informatics · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more) OR Accounting: level 4 (50% or more)

A 4-year Extended Curriculum Programme route is also available. DUT did not state a single APS number on this page. Closes 30 September 2026. From DUT’s 2027 Study Opportunities prospectus. Applications go through the CAO (cao.ac.za), not directly to DUT; general closing date 30 September 2026 (fee R250 SA / R300 international).

Source: View the official page (dut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Arts & Design

Partly verified

BEd Senior Phase & FET Teaching

Arts & Design · 4 years

DUT APS 28 points

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Specialisation subjects – Subject requirements vary by teaching specialisation, including Technology (Civil/Electrical/Mechanical) - see DUT’s prospectus for the one you want.

Closes 30 September 2026. From DUT’s 2027 Study Opportunities prospectus. Applications go through the CAO (cao.ac.za), not directly to DUT; general closing date 30 September 2026 (fee R250 SA / R300 international).

Source: View the official page (dut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verifiedNo cut-off published

Diploma in Hospitality Management

Arts & Design · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics, Mathematical Literacy or Accounting – Mathematics at level 2, or Mathematical Literacy at level 3, or Accounting at level 3.

There is no dedicated hospitality career on Studypath yet, so this is filed under the closest existing category. DUT did not state a single APS number on this page. Closes 30 September 2026. From DUT’s 2027 Study Opportunities prospectus. Applications go through the CAO (cao.ac.za), not directly to DUT; general closing date 30 September 2026 (fee R250 SA / R300 international).

Source: View the official page (dut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Engineering & the Built Environment

Partly verifiedNo cut-off published

BEngTech Civil Engineering

Engineering & the Built Environment · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more) OR Technical Mathematics: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more) OR Technical Sciences: level 5 (60% or more)
  • Combined Maths + Physical Science – DUT also requires your Mathematics and Physical Science percentages to add up to at least 120%.

DUT did not state a single APS number for this programme - the combined-subjects rule above is its real selection mechanism. Closes 30 September 2026. From DUT’s 2027 Study Opportunities prospectus. Applications go through the CAO (cao.ac.za), not directly to DUT; general closing date 30 September 2026 (fee R250 SA / R300 international).

Source: View the official page (dut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verifiedNo cut-off published

BEngTech Electronic Engineering

Engineering & the Built Environment · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Combined Maths + Physical Science – DUT also requires your Mathematics and Physical Science percentages to add up to at least 100%.

DUT did not state a single APS number for this programme. Closes 30 September 2026. From DUT’s 2027 Study Opportunities prospectus. Applications go through the CAO (cao.ac.za), not directly to DUT; general closing date 30 September 2026 (fee R250 SA / R300 international).

Source: View the official page (dut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Partly verifiedNo cut-off published

BEngTech Mechanical Engineering

Engineering & the Built Environment · 3 years

No points cut-off published for this one – see the note below.

  • English: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Physical Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Combined Maths + Physical Science – DUT also requires your Mathematics and Physical Science percentages to add up to at least 100%.

DUT did not state a single APS number for this programme. Closes 30 September 2026. From DUT’s 2027 Study Opportunities prospectus. Applications go through the CAO (cao.ac.za), not directly to DUT; general closing date 30 September 2026 (fee R250 SA / R300 international).

Source: View the official page (dut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

Health Sciences

Partly verified

Bachelor of Nursing

Health Sciences · 4 years

DUT APS 28 points

  • English: level 3 (40% or more)
  • Life Sciences: level 4 (50% or more)
  • Mathematics, Mathematical Literacy or Physical Science – Mathematics at level 4, or Mathematical Literacy at level 6, or Physical Science at level 4.
  • Two more subjects – Two further 20-credit NSC subjects.

A 5-year Extended Curriculum Programme route is also available. Several other DUT Health Sciences programmes (Chiropractic, Clinical Technology, Emergency Medical Care, Radiography, Dental Assisting) close much earlier - 15 June or 31 August 2026 - not the standard 30 September date. Closes 30 September 2026 for Nursing. From DUT’s 2027 Study Opportunities prospectus. Applications go through the CAO (cao.ac.za), not directly to DUT; general closing date 30 September 2026 (fee R250 SA / R300 international).

Source: View the official page (dut.ac.za) (opens the official page) · 2027 intake

What we couldn’t verify at DUT

We publish our gaps instead of hiding them.

partially verified

8 programmes across Engineering, ICT, Accounting, Nursing, Education, Hospitality

Full APS formula and 8 programmes captured from DUT’s 2027 prospectus and how-to-apply PDFs. DUT applications go through the CAO, not DUT directly. Several Engineering, ICT, Accounting and Hospitality programmes state subject/selection rules but no single APS cut-off on their own pages, so min_aps is null for those - DUT_APS is non-computable regardless. Several DUT Health Sciences programmes besides Nursing (Chiropractic, Clinical Technology, Emergency Medical Care, Radiography, Dental Assisting) close much earlier (15 June or 31 August 2026) than the standard 30 September date - not yet captured as separate programmes.

Do your marks get you in here?

Enter your subjects once and we’ll check them against every DUT degree above.

What do I qualify for?